Save and Publish Surveys
It is best to frequently
Save while creating a new survey using the save button at the top of the
Survey Outline. Saving creates a draft that admin users can preview in the
Survey Preview tab. This allows survey creators to test the survey in real-time, and to rapidly iterate to improve the user experience.
A survey draft is not visible to non-admin users until it has been published. In other words you must publish a survey before users can create submissions. If you make edits to a survey that has already been published any previous submissions will not change based on the edits, they will be the version of the survey that was published at the time of submission. Republishing a survey too many times can make the performance slower. Try to group changes together before you publish and try to publish when people are not actively using the survey. For example if you have a yearly survey that people fill out in the Fall/Winter make your edits in the Spring.
You can also add your survey to the question set library by selecting the three dots next to the survey name in the builder and selecting
Add to library. This is a great tool to share surveys with other groups that are collecting the same information as you because it allows for easy data comparability.